Welcome to Clip from Spiral logo

Interactive video lesson plan for: Gingin Observatory Spots Near-Earth Asteroid

Activity overview:

This movie shows the asteroid 2012 DA14 flying safely by Earth, as seen by the Gingin Observatory in Australia at 9:50 a.m. PST (12:50 p.m. EST/17:50 UTC), Feb. 15, 2013.

At the time of its closest approach to Earth, at approximately 11:25 a.m. PST (2:25 p.m. EST/19:25 UTC), the asteroid will be about 17,150 miles (27,600 kilometers) above Earth's surface.

The asteroid appears streaked because the telescope was focused on the stars while the asteroid passed through the field of view.

Image courtesy of Gingin Observatory/Tonello

Tagged under: NASA,JPL,Jet Propulsion Laboratory,space,science,NEO,Near-Earth Object,asteroid,asteroid 2012 DA14,DA14,telescope,observatory,Australia,Earth,Gingin Observatory

Clip makes it super easy to turn any public video into a formative assessment activity in your classroom.

Add multiple choice quizzes, questions and browse hundreds of approved, video lesson ideas for Clip

Make YouTube one of your teaching aids - Works perfectly with lesson micro-teaching plans

Play this activity

1. Students enter a simple code

2. You play the video

3. The students comment

4. You review and reflect

* Whiteboard required for teacher-paced activities

Share on:

Share Gingin Observatory Spots Near-Earth Asteroid on Google+ Share Gingin Observatory Spots Near-Earth Asteroid on Twitter Share Gingin Observatory Spots Near-Earth Asteroid on Facebook Pin Gingin Observatory Spots Near-Earth Asteroid Email Gingin Observatory Spots Near-Earth Asteroid

Ready to see what else Spiral logo can do?

With four apps, each designed around existing classroom activities, Spiral gives you the power to do formative assessment with anything you teach.

Quickfire

Carry out a quickfire formative assessment to see what the whole class is thinking

Discuss

Create interactive presentations to spark creativity in class

Team Up

Student teams can create and share collaborative presentations from linked devices

Clip

Turn any public video into a live chat with questions and quizzes

1000s of teachers use Spiral to deliver awesome, engaging activities that capture students' understanding during lessons.

Now it's your turn Sign up

Spiral Reviews by Teachers and Digital Learning Coaches

Spiral
Review of Spiral by teacher: Kathryn Laster @kklaster

Tried out the canvas response option on @SpiralEducation & it's so awesome! Add text or drawings AND annotate an image! #R10tech

Spiral
Review of Spiral by teacher: Room 220 Math Stars @3rdgradeBCE

Using @SpiralEducation in class for math review. Student approved! Thumbs up! Thanks.

Spiral
Review of Spiral by teacher: Miss Ord @ordmiss

Absolutely amazing collaboration from year 10 today. 100% engagement and constant smiles from all #lovetsla #spiral

Spiral
Review of Spiral by teacher: Adam J. Stryker @strykerstennis

Students show better Interpersonal Writing skills than Speaking via @SpiralEducation Great #data #langchat folks!

Spiral
Review of Spiral by teacher: Dr Ayla Göl @iladylayla

A good tool for supporting active #learning.

Spiral
Review of Spiral by teacher: Brett Erenberg @BrettErenberg

The Team Up app is unlike anything I have ever seen. You left NOTHING out! So impressed!

Get the Clip Chrome Extension & Create Video Lessons in Seconds

Add Clip to Chrome